When I was about 12 years old, my father requested that I do a “future planning” exercise. He sat me down with a pencil and photocopied sheets that contained the numbers 1-100 with blank lines next to each of the numbers. He instructed me to write down 100 things or places that I wanted to accomplish or go in my life. This is very different than just asking as 12 year old what they want to be when they “grow up”. Looking back on my 12-year-old girl ambitions, some are very silly, and others are very profound.
Through the years one thing stands true,
this list helps to remind me to focus time

and energy to complete these goals.
The list has morphed over the years. Things get removed when I am fortunate enough to accomplish them, or because something doesn’t interest me anymore. Because of curve balls, and self inflicted side tracking (procrastination), there are also numbers on the list that I wish I had already accomplished. I re-visit the list every few years and edit as needed. This is the most recent list, with some completions.

1)      Fire a Civil War cannon.
2)      Go on a hot air balloon ride.
3)      Go to Oktoberfest. (September 2012)
4)      Buy a really nice camera.
5)      Take a class on how to use my really nice camera.
6)      Get married. (January 4, 2014!!)
7)      Graduate from college. (Associate degree- complete, Bachelors- December 2013)
8)      Walk the Mackinaw Bridge on Labor Day.
9)      Have a baby. No more than two.
10)  Be a really good mom.
11)  Be a mentor.
12)  Go in a plane ride over Saginaw/Bay City/ The Bay.
13)  Visit the Grand Canyon.
14)  Go to LEGO Land.
15)  Visit the Harry Potter exhibit at Universal.
16)  Marry the love of my life. (Pending)
17)  Visit New Orleans.
18)  Visit Washington D.C.
19)  Visit Gettysburg.
20)  Hollywood Walk of Fame
21)  Scotland with my family.
22)  Go to the Craig Ferguson Show.
23)  Vacation on a houseboat.
24)  Stomp grapes in a vineyard or winery.
25)  Fall in love. (DONE!)
26)  Be in a movie, whether as an extra or as the star.
27)  Pan for gold in a mountain stream.
28)  Watch the sun rise and set in the same day. From a good location!
29)  Go outside and dance in a rainstorm. (Accomplished, but it will be done again.)
30)  Train for a 5k.
31)  Go whitewater rafting.
32)  Go parasailing in Florida.
33)  Go on a vacation with my best friend. Just the two of us!
34)  Cut bad friends out of my life. Drop poor relationships (In progress)
35)  Own a pet and take good care of it. (Moxie- January 2013…it is a process)
36)  Plant a tree for someone.
37)  Go to Coney Island and taste test.
38)  Go to the Guinness Factory, and have a pint at the sky bar. (Done, but hope to do again in 2015)
39)  Hang out in the Temple Bar District in Dublin. (Done, but hope to do again in 2015)
40)  Walk to the top of the Parthenon. (September 2011)
41)  Vacation on an island. (5 Greek islands- September-October 2011)

42)  Win a contest with a prize that is worth more than $1,000.
43)  Visit Stonehenge. (Done)
44)  Vacation in London (Accomplished!)

45)  Re-visit Wales
46)  Take Kevin to Great Brittan. (Hopefully 2015)
47)  Grow a pumpkin patch and carve the pumpkins.
48)  Go on a snow train trip or train trip.
49)  Be a supportive partner.
50)  Kiss my hunnie in front of the Bean. (Chicago)
51)  Skinny-dip. (Accomplished.)
52)  Buy a cabin on, or right by the water.
53)  Watch the top 25 of the list of the top 100 movies of all time.
54)  Attend the Olympic Games- Winter
55)  Attend the Olympic Games- Summer
56)  Roll/bake my own pretzel!
57)  Go to a concert every month for a year. (12 total- In-Progress! Will finish June 2013)
58)  Take a Week-Long Technology Hiatus
59)  Watch the northern lights in the UP or Canada
60)  Continue to have music and singing in my life. (Community choir, musicals, etc.)
61)  Be a great wife.
62)  Take pictures of my children frequently.
63)  Get a Characteure drawn.
64)  Tour the Neuschwanstein Castle (October 2012)
65)  Do a 3 day cleanse/fast once a year.
66)  Be an elected official- Commissioner? School board?
67)  Participate in Geocaching. 68)  Continue my education- lifelong learning.
69)  Have a backyard retreat.
70)  Sleep outside, under the stars.
71)  Take a tour on a Segway.
72)  Eat at 5 Dinners, Drive-ins, and Dives (Two down, three to go.)
73)  Visit a No Reservations Location
74)  Spend the holidays with my family.
75)  Do something with my parents at least once a month, or MORE!
76)  Take Kevin to Vegas. Stay in a hotel on the strip.
77)  Watch a Movie at a Drive-In Movie Theater
78)  Kick Negative Habits.
79)  LOVE myself, LOVE others!
80)  Visit Vatican City and All of Its Attractions
81)  Experience Christmas in Chicago.
82)  Be a college professor, speaker, or a continuing education educator.
83)  Try not to go to bed mad.
84)  Don’t hold grudges. FORGIVE.
85)  Stay active in church, raise my kids in the church, and sing in the choir.
86)  Become a Mrs. Clause.
87)  Attend a Cirque du Soleil Show
88)  Plan a date for a trip, but not the destination until the day we leave!
89)  Take a cooking class.
90)  Tour the new world Trade Center
91)  Go to the Statue of Liberty, Again.
92)  Learn something new every day.
93)  Visit Niagara falls. (Summer 2010)
94)  Learn to time manage and be more productive.
95)  Make a time capsule. Put fun things in it and news articles from the time. Include a letter and open everything 10 years later.
96)  Experience life with abundant joy and gratitude!
97)  Once a year Sleepy Sunday-You don’t leave the bed! (Well, except to use the bathroom/eat.
98)  Be a productive member of society.
99)  Be a bridesmaid. (Done, done, done, done, haha)
100) Turn my "can'ts" into cans, and my dreams into plans.

You may have dreams and ambitions in your head,
but take the step to compile them into one place.
If you do not have a list of your own, make one. Use any of the numbers above to get you started on your own.  You may have dreams and ambitions in your head, but take the step to compile them into one place. This is also great for gaining some incredible insight into the goals/dreams of someone in your life.

Happy listing! Live long and prosper.

Frank Starkweather
4/30/2013 01:31:50 am

Wow! What a wonderful list. Think I'll make one of my own.

I'm impressed. Great job, Darling Daughter.

Dad

Reply



Leave a Reply.