Last week marked the end an era…

The last of a long line of Volvo’s is no longer in our family lineage. My brother, Stuart just got rid of his blue Volvo 240, commonly referred to as "The Volvo". For as many years as I can remember, there has always been a Volvo in our family. Our choice of driving funny looking foreign cars, and living in an American automotive town always drew scoffs and funny looks. 

Many owners of the late model Volvo 240 know that as they age, there are finicky things that happen to these cars. Where I am located in Michigan, it became harder and harder to find a mechanic that was willing to work on the cars, or had the intricate knowledge of their quirks.

You will never forget your first car, or your time in a Volvo 240!
Over the decade that I drove a Volvo 240, I had three different cars.

The first one was a beautiful gold Volvo. She was perfect. We lost her in an ice storm my freshmen year in college. That Volvo saved the life of my friends Allie and Jenn, and I. I will never forget the state police officer saying “You are lucky you are in such a safe car, another car would have flipped over the overpass and right onto 1-75”. I had the grill from this car hanging on my bedroom wall for years.

The second one was Maroon in color and had been re-painted with a metallic fleck in the paint. This car was the car that I managed to run out of gas in about a dozen times because the gas gauge was no longer functioning.  I also lost the last key to Volvo #2 in between the slats on a dock and into the Saginaw River.  We searched everywhere for a hidden copy of a key to this car, but had no luck. My car had to be towed away from a spot downtown where it was collecting parking tickets, broken into, and re-keyed. This would have been enough to have anyone trade her in for a different option, but I was stubborn. I drove that car until I blew the engine because it hadn’t had an oil change in way too long. Oooops.

The third was also a maroon Volvo 240. When I first got this car, the transmission from the previous car was swapped in. Over the years that I drove that car, the starter had to be replaced, and many other functions went awry. I remember college textbooks being forever locked in the trunk mid-semester and having to be replaced. This car sat for a whole summer because there was no remedy for why it wouldn’t start every time you got in it to go somewhere. I rode my bike a lot of places that summer.

Picture
My 3rd Volvo 240.
After driving three Volvo 240’s over a decade, to my dismay, it was time to trade mine in. In June of last year, to the joy of my Fiancée, I traded in my Volvo for a Pontiac Vibe. The radio, speedometer, and turning indicators on this new car all worked. What a luxury! This new car also started every time I wanted it to. The anxiety that was once involved with “will I be able to get there on time?” washed away.

My trials and tribulations involved with my Volvo were also paired with many fond memories. I’m sure the memories may not have been as fond to fellow passengers that were stranded places with me, but nonetheless, fond memories.

As my brother writes:

Friends,
Today marks an exceedingly bittersweet event in my life and the lives of many young adults across the world: the retirement of a first car. Although many times frustrating beyond belief, I truly enjoyed driving my unique and iconic Volvo, known by many as “The Volvo.” I could not be more thankful that I’ve been fortunate enough to put many miles on this car since turning sixteen. Maybe I will buy a 1990 Volvo 240 again in the future, hopefully at a time when I can restore it to out-of-the-box form, but for now, on to bigger and better things.

Goodbye old friend. Thanks for the memories.”

"Goodbye old friend. Thanks for the memories.”
Picture
The trade...Volvo 240 for a Chevy Impala.
In the future, I hope to own a sea foam green Volvo 240, and drive her in the summer with the windows down. My brother hopes to own one again in the future and turn it into a rally car. Mark my words; there will be a time when they are back in the family, and used for tootling around.




Leave a Reply.